السكن

تعد المساكن التسعة جزءاً أساسياً في البرنامج الداخلي، حيث تضم حوالي 450 طالباً وطالبة و87 عضو من هيئة التدريس ومجموعة من القطط والكلاب في مساكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس.

  • مساكن البنات: مرزيم (للمبتدئات)، النيلم، عطاير، جناح، شعلة
  • مساكن الأولاد: سلافات (للمبتدئين)، نهال، ميسا، ميزان

منازل الأولات والبنات منفصلة عن بعضها. ويتكوّن كل منزلٍ من غرف مشتركة ومطابخ صغيرة ومرافق لغسيل الملابس وحمامات مشتركة. ويتم تخصيص غرف نوم فردية لكل طالب على طول ممر مكوّن من 10 إلى 20 غرفة، ويعيش أحد أعضاء هيئة التدريس في شقة في نهاية كل ردهة ليعمل كولي أمر السكن. أما المراقبون الطلبة، فهم طلبة يسعون إلى بناء مهاراتهم القيادية، ويقيمون في كل ردهة، ولكن يُعتبر وجودهم ضروري لتعزيز الثقة في المجتمع السكني حيث يتساوى الطلبة وأعضاء هيئة التدريس.

وقد صُممت أروقة السكن ليتعلم الطلبة العيش مع بعضهم البعض، ومشاركة مساحة المعيشة والمرافق المختلفة. كما يتعلّم الطلبة العيش مع آخرين من خلفياتٍ ووجهات نظر واهتمامات مختلفة، وكيفية فهم واحترام اختلافاتهم. كما يكوّن الطلبة صداقاتٍ وطيدة، فبعضهم أصدقاءٌ قدامى بينهم روابط قوية، لكن آخرون يبدؤون صداقات جديدة وغير متوقعة. وفي كل رواقٍ هناك ثقافة مميزة بحسب سكانه (بما في ذلك عضو هيئة التدريس) وطريقة حياتهم. وبالتالي، يُصبح "للمنزل"، المكوّن من مجموعة ممرات مترابطة، شخصيةً فريدة.

وبالرغم من التاريخ القصير للمدرسة، إلا أن لكل سكن تقاليده وهويته والسِّمات التي يفتخر بها. فعلى سبيل المثال، يشتهر سكن "ميزان" ببراعته المسرحية، بينما يقدّم طاقم العمل والطلبة في سكن "ميسا" حفل شواء على الطراز العربي. أما في سكن "مرزيم" فهناك حمار وحشي وردي اسمه (مرزيبرا) ويُستخدم كتعويذة، ويُلقّب سكن " النيلم" بـ "القلعة". ويقدّم سكن "نهال" مأدبة عشاء دولية، بينما قد تضج قاعة ما بعد الدراسة بحفلات الرقص بشكلٍ عفوي في الغرف المشتركة لسكن "عطاير". وأخيراً، يُجسّد سكن "سلافات" منهجية روتينية قوية "بطيئة ولكن ثابتة". وفي كل منزل هناك غرفة الأخ / الأخت الذي يستضيف الزوار في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع على مدار العام. ومع مرور الوقت، يبدو أن هناك شعوراً متزايداً بالفخر لدى نزلاء كل سكن.

بعد بضع سنين، من المؤكد أن هذه المنازل ستحظى بحياةٍ خاصة بها. وعند قدوم الطلبة وأعضاء هيئة التدريس الجدد سيستمرون في المحافظة على تقاليده القوية التي بناها أسلافهم، مع إضفاء تقاليدهم الجديدة أيضاً. وقد يستمر خريجو كينغز أكاديمي، بالإحساس بذات الفخر بسكنهم والتواصل مع السكان الآخرين حول السكن الذي كان (أو لا يزال) "أفضل" من المساكن الأخرى. في نهاية المطاف، نأمل أن يؤسس تصميم السكن مجتمعاتٍ صغيرة داخل حرمنا السكني الأكبر الذي سيوفر منزلاً دافئاً رغم بُعده عن منازل عائلات سكانه، وشعوراً حقيقياً بالانتماء إلى سكانه المتنوعين.

Living on Campus

Residential Houses

Residential HousesThe nine residential houses at King’s Academy are a central part of boarding life, with roughly 400 students, 45 faculty members and a handful of faculty cats and dogs residing in them.  

  • Girls’ Houses: Murzim (freshman girls), Alnilam, Atair, Janah
  • Boys’ Houses: Sulafat (freshman boys), Nihal, Meissa, Jumean, Hadar

Each house is gender segregated and includes common rooms, kitchenettes, laundry facilities and shared bathrooms. The students are each allocated single bedrooms along a hallway of 10 to 20 rooms and a faculty member lives in an apartment at the end of each hallway to act as dorm parent. Student proctors are sprinkled throughout the hallways for additional leadership.  

It is in these hallway structures where students learn to live in close proximity with one another and to share a living space and its common facilities. They learn to live alongside others with different backgrounds, viewpoints and interests, and to understand and respect their differences. They also make close friends – some are old friends with whom the bonds have grown tighter, but others, unexpectedly, are new. Each hallway inevitably generates a distinct culture of its own, depending on its constituents (including the faculty member) and their group dynamics. As a result, the “house,” a collective of these interlinked hallways, also produces a unique character for itself.  

Even in the young history of the school, each house is beginning to establish its own traditions, quirks and sense of pride. For example, Nihal is known for its theatrical prowess, while Meissa produces the annual staff and student Arab-style BBQ. Murzim has a pink zebra (Murzebra) as its mascot, while Alnilam is nicknamed “The Castle.” Post-study hall dance parties spontaneously erupt in the Atair common room, and Sulafat produces a distinct energy of its own. As time goes by, there seems to be an increasing sense of pride for one’s residential house. 

Over the years, these houses will be sure to take on a life of their own. New students and faculty will maintain the strong house traditions built by their predecessors, while also creating new ones. Graduates of King’s will, perhaps, continue to wear their house pride on their sleeves and talk to one another about which house was (or still is) “better” than the others. Ultimately, the hope is that the house structure will create sub-communities within our larger residential campus that will warmly provide a much more tangible sense of belonging to its diverse members.

Last updated
September 18, 2016